The Director has overall responsibility for implementing the agreed strategic priorities and actions of the Board of Trustees of National Museums Scotland. The Director and Executive Team make up the top management tier of National Museums Scotland.

Director of National Museums Scotland

Dr Gordon Rintoul CBE

The Director has overall responsibility for implementing the policy and objectives of the Board of Trustees, and for leadership to staff and volunteers.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4260
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: g.rintoul@nms.ac.uk

Disclosure of salary details

Personal Assistant to Director and Office Manager: Wendy Hamilton

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4263
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308

Email: w.hamilton@nms.ac.uk

Director of Collections

Dr Xerxes Mazda

The Director of Collections is responsible for curatorial departments, research policy and programmes, collections management and conservation.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4415
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: x.mazda@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Laura Cunniffe

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4150
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: l.cunniffe@nms.ac.uk

Director of Estates and Facilities

Fiona Stewart 

The Director of Estates and Facilities is responsible for the capital development programme, estates, facilities and ICT.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4152
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: f.stewart@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4431
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk

Director of Public Programmes

Ruth Gill

The Director of Public Programmes is responsible for public services, which include Exhibitions and Design, Learning and Programmes and Library and Information Services.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4295
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: r.gill@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4104
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk

Director of External Relations

Helen Ireland

The Director of External Relations is responsible for Marketing and Communications, Digital Media, Fundraising and our National and International Programmes.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4332
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: h.ireland@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Angela Whitehead 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4431
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: a.whitehead@nms.ac.uk

Director of Visitor Experience and Managing Director of NMS Enterprises

Peter Williamson

The Director of Visitor Experience is responsible for the day to day operational management of National Museums Scotland in relation to all services provided to the visitor. NMS Enterprises Limited, a company wholly owned by National Museums Scotland, manages hospitality and events, catering and retail at National Museums Scotland’s museums, and publishing and image licensing for National Museums Scotland. 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4365
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4307
Email: p.williamson@nms.ac.uk

Head of Human Resources

Sheilagh Stewart

The Head of Human Resources is responsible for HR corporate strategy, workplace planning and Organisational Development, Training and Development, Health and Safety, and Volunteers.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4321
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: s.stewart@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Jackie Forsyth

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4104
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: j.forsyth@nms.ac.uk

Interim Director of Finance and Planning

Paula Lister

The Director of Finance and Planning is responsible for the Finance Department, Information Knowledge Management and the Corporate Policy & Performance Department. 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4290
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: p.lister@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4343
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: n.rough@nms.ac.uk

Head of Corporate Policy and Performance

Julie Brown

The Head of Corporate Policy and Performance provides an integrated approach to policy development, planning and performance management and reporting across National Museums Scotland. This post also provides information for decision making to the Trustees, Director and ExecutiveTeam, and manages the day-to-day relationship with the Scottish Government. The Corporate Support Unit provides secretarial and administrative support to the Director, Executive Team and Head of Corporate Policy and Performance.

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4272
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: j.brown@nms.ac.uk

Directors' Secretary: Netta Rough 

Tel: 44 (0) 131 247 4343
Fax: 44 (0) 131 247 4308
Email: n.rough@nms.ac.uk